Lewis Hamilton Has Been Knighted

Lewis Hamilton

Image Source Vanguard

Sir Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen came to a head in a very dramatic and controversial season final this year. Max Verstappen Wins The 2021 Formula 1 Championship. Max took the championship and you can read more about that in our other article linked above. However despite Lewis Hamilton losing the race and Mercedes questionable court appeals (now redacted) he still managed to have a spot light in the media. Lewis is now Sir Lewis Hamilton after being knighted by Prince Charles the day after the championship.

Image Source Vanguard

Achievements & Merit

Love or hate Lewis Hamilton, there is no denying he’s been nothing short of exceptional on the grid. The British driver has incredible stats. Over 100 race wins, over 4,000 points earned for his team, nearly 6,000 laps lead and 59 fastest laps is nothing to scoff at. Add in the fact that he’s currently tied and potentially on route to beat the world record F1 world championship wins, sitting at 7 currently. Further more, Lewis is not the only Formula 1 driver to be knighted.  Sir Jack Brabham & Sir Jackie Stewart both enjoyed the privileged of being knighted, however this was done many years after their retirements, Lewis is the very first F1 driver to be an active Formula 1 driver who’s been knighted, adding another record under his impressive belt.

Why Was He Knighted?

If you decided to ignore the previous paragraph then it might not be obvious why he’s been knighted. But the truth is Lewis had dominated the sport along with his team Mercedes and he brought pride to British fans and supporters of the sport. Having somebody so influential hail from your nationality (The United Kingdom) and having him set all these impressive records in the what many consider to be the most elite motor sports give him access to the privileged of knighthood.  F1 drivers are considered by many to be the best 20 drivers on the planet, and despite losing this last championship (barely), being the best of the best 7 for years does deserve some form of celebration, regardless if you like his character or not.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.